Home > News & Media > Dog-Eared Blog > The Sequoyah Challenge Pt. 1

The Sequoyah Challenge Pt. 1

Sequoyah Award

Hello loyal Buzzreaders!  It’s that time of year again.  Summer is almost upon us.  Soon the kiddos will be out of school and the pools will be opening up.  And most importantly, the new 2018 Sequoyah lists have just been announced.

Intermediate (Grades 6-8)
High School (Grades 9-12)

In case you are out of the know on what Sequoyah is, every year, a group of selected Oklahoma school and public librarians get together to read through all the latest and greatest titles that have come out in Children’s and Young Adult publishing.  The group picks their top choices and releases the new lists every year at the Oklahoma Library Association Annual Conference and students from all over the state can read at least three titles and vote.  The winners of the previous year are announced at the conference and sometimes, the author will even make a visit!  It’s like the local Oscars of book awards.

Well, I’ve shamefully fallen behind on my Sequoyah reading as of late.  Busy librarian and all that!  So I have challenged myself to read all of the 2018 Intermediate and High School Sequoyah titles.  I challenge you to join me, or at the very least, keep me on task here!  Each post, I will review one Intermediate and one High School title. I will not be going in any sort of order.  It will mostly rely on ebook availability seeing as that’s my format of choice!

So, here goes…

First up on the Intermediate list:

 

Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson
Book | eBook

The What:

12 year old Astrid has been inseparable from her best friend Nicole for all of her life… that is, until this summer. With her recent discovery of roller derby, Astrid has decided to enroll herself in Derby Camp. However, Nicole has chosen to go to Dance Camp instead, with Astrid’s arch nemesis. As Astrid struggles to keep up with the older girls at Derby Camp, she feels her friendship with Nicole slipping out from under her. Is Astrid strong enough to be a Derby Girl and survive the bout, as well as her changing friendship with Nicole?

Bonus Factors:
Cool Parents!
Astrid’s mom takes her on “Cultural Experience Field Trips” where they go to museums, restaurants, and places out of the norm for them. That’s how Astrid discovers roller derby. She’s also really cool about letting Astrid dye her hair blue.

Roller Derby!
Astrid enrolls in Derby Camp at the beginning of the book. If you know nothing about Roller Derby, her experience takes you through all the rules of the game. It’s fantastic! And FYI, OKC has it’s own Roller Derby Team, The Oklahoma Victory Dolls. So check them out!

Anna’s Thoughts:

This graphic novel written by a real-life derby girl was a fun, quick read! This was a great choice by the Intermediate Sequoyah Committee for it’s true-to-life depiction of growing up and evolving friendships. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and anyone who is into roller derby!

Read-A-Likes:

Drama by Raina Telgemeier
Smile by Raina Telgemeier
Will & Whit by Laura Lee Gulledge

First up on the High School List:

The Female of the Species by Mindy McGinnis
Book | eBook | eAudio

The What:

Alex Craft knows how to kill someone. And she doesn’t feel bad about it. After her sister’s murder three years ago, Alex has lived a very controlled life in order not to cause attention. However, when she begins working at the local animal shelter, she befriends Peekay (the Preacher’s kid), a girl in the midst of a breakup who’s looking in search of a new identity. Rounding out our trio of narrators is Jack, the hometown golden boy. Star athlete, on his way to being valedictorian, and boy toy of the head cheerleader, Jack takes notice of Alex, but harbors a secret that could ruin their fragile relationship. This page-turning thriller will keep you on your toes!

Bonus Factors:
Non-stereotypical Characters
I love how well-rounded a lot of these characters are! From Peekay’s church-going parents who are the coolest parents in the book (one character goes so far as to say this verbatim!) to the beautiful head cheerleader whose tragic self-awareness will bring you to tears, these characters come to life on the page.

Irish Wolfhounds
I can’t give too much away on this without spoiling some things in the book, but seriously! Who doesn’t love an Irish Wolfhound!

Trigger Warnings:

Animal Cruelty (limited)
Language
Murder
Rape
Underage Drinking and Drug Use

Anna’s Thoughts:

This was a powerful read to start the list with! I was familiar with McGinnis’ writing from her YA dystopian series, so this was a little out of left field for me, but so worth it. This read really brings home how normalized rape culture is today, especially after watching Netflix’s 13 Reasons Why. Definitely a read for older teens! I loved the honesty and realizations made in this novel. And the well-rounded characters were fantastic! I’m really glad I picked this one as my first title off the High School list!

Read-A-Likes:

I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga
The Unquiet by Jeannine Garsee
Panic by Lauren Oliver

And there you have it! If you’ve read these titles, let me know what you think in the comments. And if you decide to launch your own reading challenge, give me a shout out! Strength in numbers and all that! :)

Happy Reading!

Audience: 
Library: 

Anna Todd

Anna is a librarian at the Capitol Hill Library and has worked with the Metropolitan Library System since 2006. She earned her MLIS at the University of Oklahoma and a BA in English at the University of Central Oklahoma. Anna loves books (reading them and attempting to write them), movies, TV, ukuleles, and rainy days!

Comments

Hi Anna!
At Almonte, we use the Sequoyah list to drive our book club selections. We read ten of last year's children's list, and the kidsreally got a kick out of the voting process. We were a little sad though when the winning book ended up being one that we *hadn't* read.
We are ahead on the list so far this year, partially because we had already read "Crenshaw" before it made the list, and partially because there are several non-fiction picture books on the list this time.
Our current selection is "Fuzzy Mud".
If anyone out there is interested in having their kiddos tackle a Sequoyah Challenge as part of a group, we would love to have more people join us at Almonte!


   Amy Upchurch,       Thursday, May 11, 2017,      ,    

Hi Amy!
I LOVE that idea! Keep me posted on your Sequoyah Challenge and let me know if your club correctly guesses the winner. :)


   Anna,       Thursday, May 11, 2017,      ,    

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.
Site Feedback